Guest Reviews

RECENT REVIEWS 2019 –

Rebecca and 5 guests stayed at Mulberry House the June Queens birthday long weekend (7,8,9 June 2019).  Rebecca said:  

“Cheryl’s home was the perfect spot for our group for a long weekend. The house is very clean and comfortable. The garden is beautiful! It has the best stocked pantry and fridge I have ever had! The beds were very comfortable and there were some great personal touches and recommendations and tips for the area. Cheryl was very helpful and great at communicating. Would love to stay again and would highly recommend to others. We also had heaps of towels which was great for a group of girls!”

Vlado and 8 friends stayed at Mulberry House for 3 nights wkd of 24,25 and 26 May 2019.  Vlado said:
‘You have been so pleasant  to deal with right from the start, in accommodating our boys  weekend at Mulberry House.
When we arrived it was a surprise to see how clean and organised the house was.
I would like to thank you on behalf all the boys having provided such a great house with everything provided. Having the pantry filed up with all the essentials was a great help.
When we come back to the area we will definitely come back to you place.
‘Thank you once again and all the best’. Vlado

Vicki and 4 friends stayed at Mulberry House weekend d 22/23 March 2019. 

Vicki said: ‘ 4 friends and I stayed at Mulberry House and enjoyed a weekend in Rutherglen. The house was clean and tidy and really met our needs. We made use of the outdoor area for ‘happy hour’ and breakfast.
Great location, would highly recommend it, and would certainly book again if heading that way’  Vicki

Kate and family stayed March Tastes of Rutherglen long weekend, for 3 nights with their family (2 young children) and their friends (2 adults and 2 toddlers).

Kate said:  ‘We have just completed our third stay at Mulberry House and can’t wait to come back again for the March Tastes of Rutherglen 2021. The house is perfect for families – heaps of space, great location, great amenities and always spotless. Cheryl is such a wonderful host and always so generous in leaving some local wine to enjoy (highly recommend Scion, it’s delicious). See you next year Cheryl. Thanks again for having us. Kate (Melbourne)

  Adam & 7 friends stayed at Mulberry Wkd 1 & 2 March 2019 and said:

‘Excellent Accomodation. Great location and quiet street. Exactly what was needed for a short stay with a large group. Great BBQ and entertainment facilities. Great communication with host and very accommodating’ .  Adam

Faye & family (6 Adults & 6 children) stayed at Mulberry for Day on the Green in February 2019.  Faye said:

‘Mulberry House is an ideal house if you wish to catch up with family and friends.The home was very well set out. All the bedrooms had comfortable beds with beautiful linen. There were also plenty of towels fro all to use. The backyard was excellent for the children to play in. We ate under the pergola for all our meals as we could all chat and cook on the barbecue and interact with the kids at the same time’. Faye

REVIEWS 2018:

REVIEW: Grant & his family and friends (6 adults, 4 toddlers) stayed Mulberry House Friday 22 & Sat 23 November 2018.

Grant said: ‘ Mulberry House has been a great place for us to stay fora couple ofyears now. The house is always clean and well presented. There is plenty of room for the kids to run around in the backyard and also to entertain a few friends in the evening. Cheryl has been a fantastic host and is very responsive. We’re looking forward to staying at Mulberry House again in 2019’.

Yvonne and family – stayed 4 nights 21- 25 November 2018

‘We came to Rutherglen for a family wedding and Cheryl’s place was amazing! We had family from all over the world come and her home was our core place…we had a family BBQ on the patio…her home was a perfect place to celebrate and reunite…Cheryl made us welcome with amazing amenities a lovely welcome package…we will stay here again. Thank you Cheryl, you are wonderful’.

REVIEW: Tanya and family stayed 28 & 29 September 2018 and said:

‘A beautiful place, felt like home away from home. Great location and host. Very clean. Could not fault a thing’.  Rated by Tanya out of 10  – Cleanliness – 10; Location 10; Facilities 10; Comfort 10; value for money 10.

Nick and family stayed August 2018 for a weekend and his daughter Larissa said: 

‘We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Mulberry House. It was so close to amazing wineries and eateries. The town centre had many shops and cafes. They were all fantastic!

Following on, the heaters in the living room and bedrooms kept us warm everyday. Especially, when it was cold and crisp outside. The washing machine and dryer provided were very efficient and quick. A great way to keep our clothes clean.
Thank you for everything that was supplied in the pantry and fridge. The wine that was kindly left in the fridge was delicious. We would definitely be back and certainly recommend Mulberry House to family and friends. Thank you for providing a lovely, warm, safe and cosy environment for us to create memorable family experiences.
Kind regards,
Larissa’

Steve and Debbie, Melbourne (stayed 30 Dec to 4 Jan 2019)

‘A magnificent Rutherglen country home’.

‘Mulberry House is an absolute gem. It is beautifully presented and perfectly maintained. The pantry was fully stocked and a beautiful bottle of wine chilled awaiting us after our trip from Melbourne. The bedrooms are very spacious and great mattresses, and the air-conditioning was superb for the hot days. Two bathrooms/toilets too !! Mulberry is only a 9 minute stroll to the main shopping strip and there’s a public swimming pool if you decide you want to cool off on the way !! You are right in the heart of all the great wineries of the region as well as short trips to Corowa, Wahgunyah, the Murray River, the historic town of Chiltern etc’.
‘It was always wonderful to come home each day to Mulberry House to enjoy a cool drink under the pergola in the backyard. Lots of magnificent birds to enjoy too – the cockatoos make a real song and dance at the caravan park at dusk if you don’t mind a 5 minute walk’.
‘A fantastic house and a sensational experience’. Steve and Debbie

REVIEW: Grant & his family and friends (6 adults, 4 toddlers) stayed Mulberry House Friday 22 & Sat 23 November 2018.

Grant said: ‘ Mulberry House has been a great place for us to stay fora couple ofyears now. The house is always clean and well presented. There is plenty of room for the kids to run around in the backyard and also to entertain a few friends in the evening. Cheryl has been a fantastic host and is very responsive. We’re looking forward to staying at Mulberry House again in 2019’.

Justin and family stayed 4 nights (25 Oct – 28 Oct 2018).

Justin (father of the Groom said:

‘Great place in a very convenient location we were able to walk most places in town which was nice. The outdoor area and gardens are very nice and a credit to the owner’ (Justin).

 Tanya and family stayed 28 & 29 September 2018 and said:

‘A beautiful place, felt like home away from home. Great location and host. Very clean. Could not fault a thing’.  Rated by Tanya out of 10  – Cleanliness – 10; Location 10; Facilities 10; Comfort 10; value for money 10.   Highly recommend Mulberry House’.

 

Nick and his family (wife and 3 children) stayed 18/19 August 2018; prior to travelling to Mt Hotham for a skiing holiday.

‘We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Mulberry House. It was so close to amazing wineries and eateries. The town centre had many shops and cafes. They were all fantastic!

Following on, the heaters in the living room and bedrooms kept us warm everyday. Especially, when it was cold and crisp outside. The washing machine and dryer provided were very efficient and quick. A great way to keep our clothes clean.
Thank you for everything that was supplied in the pantry and fridge. The wine that was kindly left in the fridge was delicious. We would definitely be back and certainly recommend Mulberry House to family and friends. Thank you for providing a lovely, warm, safe and cosy environment for us to create memorable family experiences.
Kind regards,
Larissa’

 

 REVIEW: Marg and 9 guests stayed for Family wedding 20 and 21 April 2018 

Marg said:

‘We loved staying at Cheryl ‘s place. It was very clean and fresh. All amenities were available, nice walk down to shops . We would recommend anyone to stay you wouldn’t be disappointed’

 

Home away from home (Stayz review)
Stayed 13 & 14 April 2018 x 6 guests

‘We had such a lovely stay at Mulberry House! It’s a wonderful family home, with all of the creature comforts of perfect for a weekend getaway with friends or family. We really enjoyed the great outdoor area with a BBQ, and the fantastic entertaining areas inside the home. There is plenty of space and lovely amenities to make it such a comfortable stay. The house is in walking distance to the main street and we loved it so much, we’ll definitely be back again’! (Sarah and friends)

 Feature this review on my HomeAway listing. (Move it to the top of the list!)

Mulberry House – ‘Country comfort at its best’

Celeste and 6 friends stayed at Mulberry House Rutherglen weekend 16/17 March 2018 for Day on the Green.  She said:

‘This gorgeous country house is comfortable, clean and so homely. It is spacious yet cosy. The bedrooms are large with very nice decor throughout. It has large showers and 2 bathrooms. The host has every amenity sorted for you too. Close to town. Highly recommend’.

 

MULBERRY HOUSE …..Bride and bridesmaids stayed Mulberry House 22 February – 24 February 2018.

The Bride (Erin) said : “Mulberry House, what a fantastic home away from home!  I stayed with my bridesmaids in the lead up to the wedding; it is spacious, clean, comfortable and easy walking distance to the Main St. Cheryl is attentive,responsive and has an excellent local knowledge of things to see and do in Rutherglen. Would highly recommend for wedding parties, families, or groups of friends!’

 

MULBERRY HOUSE …Another happy family 4 nights for New Year
Matthew said:
‘Just wanted to let you know that we had a fantastic time staying at the Mulberry house. Had a lovely time visiting the wineries and having Xmas lunch with the grandma’s. The outdoor area was a hit and we had dinner out there most nights.

We will definitely keep Mulberry house in mind for future visits to the area, and will be recomending it to our friends and family as a great place to stay’.

Frances and family stayed Mulberry House 4 nights for their son’s wedding weekend (14 Dec to 19 Dec)

Frances rated Mulberry House as 5 Star and left a Review on Trip Advisor; as per below:

‘Mulberry House made our visit to Rutherglen for our son’s wedding perfect. All our family were able to stay together in the comfortable well appointed open plan home. Everything we needed was present in excess and in excellent condition. Very comfortable beds and air conditioning most appreciated. The highlight was the garden where we were able to hold pre wedding photos and the post wedding breakfast before all went on their ways home. Would recommend to all. We will visit again as we did not have enough time to do the wineries. Thanks Cheryl’.

 

Jane stayed 4 nights at Mulberry House from 30 Nov to 5 Dec 2017, for her wedding:

Jane said:

‘Mulberry house was our base for our wedding weekend. Second marriage so blended children and friends to be accommodated to help with all the visitors. The house was able to accommodate all. Beds are very comfortable. Lounge and outdoor areas perfect. This house is also easy to keep clean which is a bonus when you have lots of visitors dropping by to wish you well.  Thank you Cheryl for letting us stay in this well appointed home. We will be back to rent again.  Thank you’, Jane and Paul

Another happy group (8 guests) stayed at Mulberry House for a wedding on weekend of 4/5 November 2017:

Jude said: ‘the house was well presented, very clean, beds nicely made up with lots of batch towels, shampoo, soaps etc, comfortable beds and pillows, kitchen well stocked with good range of cooking equipment, and fridge had basic items – butter, jams, complimentary local wine.

House has lovely garden and outdoor tables & chairs with BBQ. Large sitting room and dining table & chairs to sit 8 guests. We were in town for a wedding and it suited our family of 8 adults perfectly’. Jude

 

 

Wendy and family (9 guests) stayed 3 nights weekend of 27 October and said:

‘ Your house was beautifully presented and it was a great location. Our family came up for a wedding and it suited us perfectly   The outdoor area was really a great the whole family seemed to congregate there.’ Thanks again. Wendy’

‘Mulberry House was the best find.Great location, fabulous house, brilliant floor plan,It didn’t lack for anything’……says Sue from Melbourne (stayed 5/10/17 to 9/10/17)

‘We were at Rutherglen for our sons wedding.  Loved the new oak dining furniture and coffee table. Loved the outdoor patio/BBQ area, all covered in should there be rain.Everything was user friendly. And so for us, it was a win win. The wedding was fabulous, so too was our accommodation.
In every respect, Cheryl went out of her way to accomodate us. Thanks Cheryl’!
Best wishes Sue

‘Perfect base for a Rutherglen district wedding’…says Marc from Canberra

‘Our son was recently married at one of the Rutherglen district wineries and we based ourselves at Mulberry House for the big day and a few days before and afterwards. A key factor in choosing the house was that it was only 10 mins drive to wedding venue and walking to the main street and shops at other times was easy. The house was perfect as we had various relatives with us from overseas and interstate and the extra space was very handy – all four bedrooms are comfortably furnished. Cheryl was very helpful during the booking process and with guidance on local eateries and wineries for our group to visit on the other days we stayed. The house has almost every comfort for a week/weekend and some surprises such as a free bottle of wine and a fridge and pantry with a few staple items.’

Jacqueline and 4 friends stayed for 2 nights in September and said:

‘Just a quick note to say thank you so much for our WONDERFUL stay at Mulberry House! It’s such a beautiful space – so elegant but also comfortable and inviting. It was the perfect size for our group and we’re already planning to do it again next year. Thank you, thank you for everything’!

John and friends from Adelaide stayed for 2 nights 13/14 August and said:

Superb Accommodation

 ‘Mulberry House is located in a quiet street which only has local traffic and is a pleasant ten minute walk or very quick drive from the Main street of Rutherglen.
The accommodation is impeccably clean, organised & tidy throughout the entire house.
The house is large & well laid out and with, for our group of five males over 60, spacious living areas & bedrooms so that we were not living on top of each other & could have our own space when needed. The kitchen includes an extensive range of cutlery, cooking utensils, appliances etc. in which, unlike some places, everything works and is easy to find. The house is very well furnished & equipped throughout the living & sleeping areas along with bathrooms etc of which the later included all the toiletries & towels that we needed & all of good quality.
Cheryl is a terrific host who is easily accessible but not intrusive. She provided us with a range of information including on local wineries and places to eat which decidedly improved our two days around Rutherglen. Without Cheryl’s input our trip would have been poorer.
 Finally, as our stay was in winter & although the house is large, we had no trouble in keeping it warm throughout’.

Helen and extended family (8 Guests) stayed 3 & 4 August 2017, and said:

‘We had a great family reunion here. The kitchen is well stocked and we especially appreciated the milk, fruit and local bottle of red wine. This is the best provisioned house any of us have stayed in, both in terms of pantry items and towels/blankets. The outdoor space would be fantastic in better weather. Sadly we couldn’t take advantage. Communication with Cheryl was very easy and we appreciated the additional heater she supplied, a perfect level of being available but not interfering. A flat walk into town of 10 – 15 minutes (depending on your fitness) and lots of wineries nearby. We also got pizza delivered. Highly recommend this accommodation’.

Lyn and 5 friends from Ballarat stayed for 3 nights from 13 to 16 July 2017 and said: 

‘We recently stayed at Mulberry house.
Cheryl’s home is lovely. Very spacious, tidy, clean and warm.
It is very well equipped, with a wonderful outdoor/bbq area.
Cheryl is a wonderful, generous host with very helpful local knowledge.
The location is also great, within easy walking to the township.

David & Family from Geelong stayed the weekend of 7 & 8 July 2017, and said:

‘My wife, 2 grown up children and I really loved the layout of the house. It was big enough for us to have our won space when we needed, yet cosy enough for us to do things like watch DVD’s play games together in the living area.  The proximity to the Main Street was great. Overall, we just felt really comfortable and it was the best experience we’ve had as a family in holiday accomodation for a long time’.

Kay & Paul from the UK stayed for 2 weeks from 16 June to 2 July 2017 , and said:

‘Great place to stay  the house was very comfortable with top quality products.  It was in a very quiet location with a lovely garden with both sun and shade.  It was like home from home and very clean and well looked after.  Ideal position for exploring the countryside and of course the wineries, plenty of walking and bike tracks and also close to the Murray river.  Once again thanks Cheryl’.

Rebecca and friends stayed at Mulberry House for June Winery Walkabout weekend 2017 and said:

Great weekend

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Mulberry House. Cheryl was very accomodating, the house was clean and tidy and had everything we needed for our weekend in Rutherglen. The outdoor area was fantastic for some drinks and nibbles in the afternoon, and the location was walking distance from the Main Street. Thank you Cheryl for having us in Mulberry House.

Janine and friends stayed for 2 nights Weekend 26 May 2017 and said:

Lovely accommodation

We spent a weekend here and couldn’t fault our stay. This well kept house and grounds provided an open, comfortable base for our sightseeing. With the weather cooling this was not an issue. The outside area would be great in the warmer weather. Would readily recommend this place.

 

Claire and her family stayed at Mulberry House for 3 nights from 12 May 2017 to attend a wedding in Rutherglen.   Claire said:

Review
Mulberry house is lovely! We visited  Rutherglen for a wedding and decided to bring our parents along to help us look after the kids and also enjoy some time together.
The house is spacious, comfortable and well equipped with all the essential items. Cheryl goes the extra length by providing plenty of towels and blankets, complimentary shampoo and conditioner and a much appreciated bottle of prosecco that was waiting in the fridge for us! Cheryl also went out and bought a porta cot so we would have one during our stay. She is easy to contact and always got back to me really quickly. Mulberry house is a quick 10 minute walk into town and close to nearby wineries. Rutherglen is a beautiful place. If we come back we would definitely use Mulberry house again.

Jim Reilly stayed 7 & 8 April 2017 for the weekend with friends…this is what Jim Said: 

‘Amazing house. Very clean, quiet and central to everything we needed in Rutherglen. Fantastic host!

‘It was a wonderful house and made for an even more enjoyable weekend. Thank you so much’!

Andrea and her sister stayed 25 & 26 March 2017 to attend a wedding in Rutherglen:

‘Loved our stay!’

My sister and I had a wedding to attend close by and this property suited us perfectly. It was clean, neat and had all the amenities we required. It was great having the two bathrooms so it was a lot easier to get ready in the mornings. The main strip of shops were also very close and within walking distance, so it was nice to get out and explore in the mornings. The property owner Cheryl was was very attentive and checked in prior to our stay to ensure everything was on track and we had what we needed. We’d definitely stay again, it was very comfortable, a home away from home.

Kate family & friends (4 children; 4 Adults) stayed for Taste of Rutherglen long weekend 10, 11, 12 March 2017 and said:

A wonderful property!

We had an absolute ball at Mulberry house. Perfect layout for families, beautifully appointed and an absolutely stunning garden and outdoor area. Cheryl has created a warm and inviting home away from home and has been wonderful to deal with. She thought of so many lovely little touches to make our stay special. The main street is within easy walking distance and of course so many great wineries are so close. Thanks for having us Cheryl, we can’t wait to come back!

Madison and 5 guests stayed at Mulberry House 9th & 10th December, 2016:

‘ A seriously amazing stay in Rutherglen! Me and my family were up there for my brothers wedding at a winery and Cheryl’s place was just perfect. She was fantastic from the word go with a few questions around the house before I booked, and we were definitely not disappointed during our stay. Comfy beds, well furnished house and a fantastic backyard for having bacon and eggs on bbq and sitting out in the sun under the pergola. Every little detail in the house was perfect – from nice towels, to little jams and everything you needed was there. It was literally a 30 second drive from the main street and only 10-15 minutes away from the wineries. I highly recommend staying at Cheryls and if we were to come back to Rutherglen we wouldn’t consider anywhere else. Thanks so much Cheryl!’

Aaron and guests for his wedding stayed in November 2016:

‘A beautiful house fully equipped, clean and very comfortable. It made for the perfect stay for us and some guests for our wedding. Cheryl was the perfect host who covered all bases with seamless communication. Would highly recommend’.

Esther and her guests stayed at Mulberry House in November 2016:

‘Cheryl’s house is spacious and easily fit all 7 of our friends. It’s a short walk from the main strip of Rutherglen but also has plenty of room for parking if you are driving. Everything was clean and neat. The kitchen was fully equipped with useful items and basic food needs which was appreciated (tea, coffee, milk, butter, spreads etc). Cheryl always responded quickly when I contacted her and made sure we were aware well in advance of the check in process. This made our visit incredibly easy and I would not hesitate to stay here again if we ever visit the area again’.

Jenny guests and children stayed at Mulberry House in December 2016:

Would go again!

Left on Jan 1, 2017 for a stay in Dec 2016

‘Loved the stay, clean and spacious. Has everything that you could possibly want or need. Fantastic yard for kids in a quiet location. Cheryl the owner is very thorough and nothing is a problem. Great air conditioning for summer, comfy beds and a range of pillows throughout the house to choose from. Couldn’t fault this place at all’.
Karen and guests for a wedding in Rutherglen stayed 4 January 2017 to 10 January 2017:
“What an amazing house. I was there for a week and had my adult children stay the weekend for a wedding. The house is well equipped and large enough for a large group. The photos do not do it justice. Will definitely be staying there on my return visit to this lovely town. Thank you Cheryl’.
 Dianne and guests stayed January 2017

‘Lovely house’.

‘We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this house. Very comfortable beds. Lovely couches. Beautiful gardens with plenty of out door furniture. Lovely bottle of local wine waiting for us upon arrival’.

Danielle – Hens weekend prior to Wedding. Stayed February 2017

‘A large, beautiful and spacious home, making for a great retreat for you and a group of friends or family’.

‘Thank you so much for having us. Your place was just perfect for our weekend’.

February 2017

Cherie stayed 24 & 25 February with 6 guests

We had a beautiful stay at Mulberry House. The facilities were fantastic. The house had everything we needed and really felt like home. It was very very clean, which made our stay lovely. The outside area was beautiful to sit at. We also loved that there were items in the fridge eg. butter etc we could use. Thank you so much Mulberry house it really was a fab place to stay.

Linda & Phil & 5 guests stayed 3 & 4 March 2017 and said:

‘Mulberry House is comfortable, clean and easy walking distance to shops, restaurants etc and the wineries are only a short drive away. We had a lovely stay and wouldn’t hesitate to book again in the future. Although we didn’t meet Cheryl, her communications were very clear and she was a pleasure to deal with. Thanks again’

Naomi and wedding party stayed 16 March to 19 March – this is what they said about Mulberry House –

‘We used Mulberry House as the base for the weekend of our best friends wedding. During our stay, we were so impressed with our accommodation and all of our friends and family visiting over the weekend made so many lovely compliments about  Mulberry House. The home was beautifully presented and Cheryl has thought of everything to make you feel at home. The beds are very comfortable, there are plenty of quality towels and linen provided and in general the home is spacious and full of natural light. On the morning of the wedding we had up to 20 people in Mulberry House helping get ready and at no time did we feel ‘packed in’. There is a large alfresco area out the back surrounded by beautiful gardens. It was the perfect spot to relax and unwind after some big days. Cheryl was so easy and efficient to communicate with, she made the whole process very simple and to top it off she left 2 delicious bottles of complimentary sparkling wine from a local winery in the fridge for us to celebrate our special occasion. It was such a personal touch a thoughtful gesture. We all agreed we had made the perfect choice in accommodation for the wedding and can not recommend the Mulberry House enough if you are looking for a home away from home to prepare for your big day’.